2017 Newport Autumn Bloom – Registration is now OPEN!

All abilities are welcome to picturesque Newport, WA for this annual 5K/10K fun run! The 10K race is an official Bloomsday 2018 Second Seed qualifier! This is our 10th anniversary run and it gets better every year! Check out the new discounts for pre-registered groups of 6 or more people (call the Foundation Office for your group access code…509.447.7928, ext. 7928)!

Pre-registration ends September 12, 2017.

Click here to download the 2017 registration form.

Three Qualify for Bloomsday 2017!

Diana Crabtree (5K Female Overall Winner; 1st Place 30-39 yr Age Division) and Brin Westenskow (2nd Place 30-39 yr Age Division)


Saturday 136 runners from all over the Northwest braved the rainy morning and competed in the 2016 Newport Autumn Bloom 5K/10K Fun Run benefiting the Newport Hospital & Health Services Foundation. Autumn Bloom’s 10K officially qualified three runners for the highly competitive second seed for Bloomsday 2016. This year’s race welcomed back three prestigious Spokane running clubs, Manito Running Club, the Flying Irish Running Club and Bloomsday Road Runners Club.  According to Jenny Smith, Foundation Director, the latest improvement to the hospital’s annual race was the hiring of Across the Line Timing to handle finish line timing. “Papa Murphy’s Pizza stepped forward to sponsor the timing company, and we couldn’t be more grateful,” said Smith. “It allowed us to start the awards ceremony sooner and eliminated a lot of stress for race organizers.”

Bloomsday 2016 Second Seed qualifiers were: Steve Kirske (00:37’43), Shana Piper (00:45:31) and Christina Ramirez (00:46’20). Male overall 10K winners were Steve Kirshke (1st), Ryan Driscoll (2nd) and Jeremy Kovach (3rd). Female overall 10K winners were Shana Piper (1st), Christina Ramirez (2nd) and Brenda Gill (3rd). 5K male overall winners were Jason Dowdy (1st), David Bingaman (2nd) and Geary Lewis (3rd).  5K female overall winners were Diana Crabtree (1st), Kristi Buescher (2nd) and Brin Westenskow (3rd).

Click here for the official 2016 Newport Autumn Bloom Finishing Results!

Check out our Facebook page for event photos! 

10 K race winners by age division were:

10K Female (15-19 Age Group): 1st Place – Shelby Fisher

10K Male (20-29 Age Group): 1st Place – Dillon Gasper; 2nd Place — Dakota Kivett

10K Female (20-29 Age Group): 1st Place – Brittany Leupold

10K Male (30-39 Age Group): 1st Place – Ryan Driscoll; 2nd Place – John Collins; 3rd Place – Kevin Young

10K Female (30-39 Age Group): 1st Place – Shana Piper; 2nd Place – Christina Ramirez; 3rd Place – Lensa Etana

10K Male (40-49 Age Group): 1st Place – Steve Kirske; 2nd Place – Jeremy Kovach; 3rd Place – Terry Vanduzee

10K Female (40-49 Age Group): 1st Place – Brenda Gill; 2nd Place – Callie Beach; 3rd Place – Kristin Janson

10K Male (50-59 Age Group): 1st Place – Wayne Foster; 2nd Place – Jim Johnson; 3rd Place – Paul Gill

10K Female (50-59 Age Group): 1st Place – Suzie Coffman;  2nd Place – Annie Frederick; 3rd Place – Lesa Boulton

10K Male (60-69 Age Group): 1st Place – Paul Fitzpatrick; 2nd Place – Rodney Riffel

10K Female (60-69 Age Group): 1st Place – Karen Luedeking; 2nd Place – Susan Fitzpatrick; 3rd Place – Connie Wentz

10K Male (70+ Age Group): 1st Place – James Schow

10K Female (70+ Age Group): 1st Place – Jan Kirk; 2nd Place – Jean Greene

5 K race winners by age division were:

5K Male (14 & Under Age Group): 1st Place – Sam Thomas; 2nd Place – Luke Hammond; 3rd Place – Eric Pierce

5K Female (14 & Under Age Group): 1st Place – Anna Jones; 2nd Place – Carly Campbell; 3rd Place – Grace Parry

5K Male (15-19 Age Group): 1st Place – Fred Houck; 2nd Place — Ben Miller; 3rd Place – Joseph Chantry

5K Female (15-19 Age Group): 1st Place – Cydni Lewis; 2nd Place – Keri Goodrich; 3rd Place – Jocelyn Endicott

5K Female (20-29 Age Group): 1st Place – Melanie Chantry

5K Male (30-39 Age Group): 1st Place – David Bingaman; 2nd Place – Doug Miller; 3rd Place – Jason Jones

5K Female (30-39 Age Group): 1st Place – Diana Crabtree; 2nd Place – Brin Westenskow; 3rd Place – Jada Freer

5K Male (40-49 Age Group): 1st Place – Jason Dowdy; 2nd Place – Geary Lewis; 3rd Place – Geoff Jones

5K Female (40-49 Age Group): 1st Place – Kristi Buescher; 2nd Place – Erica Newton; 3rd Place – Tina Batsch

5K Male (50-59 Age Group): 1st Place – Bruce Kuest; 2nd Place – Jerald Butler; 3rd Place – Allen Layman

5K Female (50-59 Age Group): 1st Place – Marie Slater; 2nd Place – Cathy Wallis; 3rd Place – Julie Brown

5K Male (60-69 Age Group): 1st Place – Michael Tonkyn; 2nd Place – George Wallis; 3rd Place – Doug Hammond

5K Female (60-69 Age Group): 1st Place – Angie Titus; 2nd Place – Nancy Kiss

5K Female (70+ Age Group):  1st Place – Pat Trout

Runners were encouraged along the route by 115 volunteers and race emcee, Keith Campbell. This year’s event benefited the Healthy Kids Snack Bag program and the Reach Out and Read Program. For more information on funding and volunteer opportunities for Healthy Kids Snack Bags or Reach Out and Read, please contact the Foundation office at (509) 447-7928.


 2016 Premium Event Sponsors:


 City Logo Compressed

The Foundation and committee would like to thank the following people for their support of Newport Autumn Bloom:

Pend Oreille County Sheriff’s Department (Route Security)

Newport High School Fire Science

Linda Mathews, Route Support

Newport High School Cheerleaders

City of Newport

Washington State Department of Transportation

Pend Oreille Public Utility District

Marianne Nichols

Melanie Endicott

Tom Wilbur

Mike & Kim Manus

Terri Ivie

Jill Monroe

Donna Neale, 10K Support Crew Captain

House of the Lord School

Manito Running Club

Bloomsday Road Runners Club

Flying Irish Running Club

Brandon Nokes

Shelby Bishop-Fisher & Ken Fisher (Finish Line)

Glennis & Keagan Stott, 5K Bike Marshalls

Marla & Kayd Moss, 10K Bike Marshalls

Bret Smith, Fred Houck,  Chris Thomas, Sam Thomas, Keith Cambell, Elder Johnson, Elder Park (Set-up)

Marie Senn, Pam Tully, Peggy Greene, Patti Page, Suzie Reasoner (Registration Team)

Keith Campbell, Videographer, DJ & Race Emcee

Lois Robertson, Event Photographer

Cindy Campbell, Race Co-Director

Michael McLaughlin, Race Co-Director